Skip to main content

Deceased Online looks back at more successful times for Arsenal Football Club



Bertie Mee, OBE (25 December 1918 - 20 October 2001)

This week at Deceased Online we have been celebrating the start of the 2012/2013 football season. We were surprised by how many footballers, club founders and managers we’ve found in the database. Some are not well-known, but others, like Tiverton Preedy (1863-1928) had a major effect on football’s history. Preedy and others will be profiled in more detail in future blogs.

One of England’s biggest football clubs, Arsenal, has had a challenging time recently, not winning any trophies for seven years. Fans may prefer to look back on 1971 when the north London side became only the second club in the 20th century to win the ‘double’ of the FA Cup and League Division One. The manager who took them to this great success was the team’s former physiotherapist, Bertie Mee.

The Highbury Stadium where Arsenal celebrated their double triumph under Bertie Mee. (Copyright: Wikimedia Commons)

Born in Nottinghamshire on Christmas Day 1918, Bertie Mee’s own footballing career was interrupted by the outbreak of the Second World War. Injury prevented him from continuing as a professional footballer and he spent six years serving in the Royal Army Medical Corps. The strong discipline and efficient organisation of Army life had a great influence, which Mee was to remember in his post-war career in football. After becoming a trainer and physiotherapist, Mee joined Arsenal in 1960. His evident skills saw him promoted to acting manger in June 1966. A few months later, he was appointed manager.

Arsenal’s performances quickly improved. Mee guided the team to the League Cup finals in 1968 and 1969, and then onto European success in 1970 – seventeen years after the team had last won a trophy. From then, Mee knew greatness lay ahead and he asked the team to put football foremost in order to win. His tactics were justified when they achieved the double in 1971. Mee was subsequently awarded Manager of the Year.

After this the side was less successful, never winning another trophy under Mee. He resigned from the club in 1976. Graham Taylor appointed Mee as his assistant manager at Watford – later describing this as “the best signing I ever made”. Mee became a director at Watford, finally stepping down in 1991. He was awarded the OBE in 1983.

Last name: Mee 
First names: Bertie 
Burial date: 26 Oct  2001 
Authority: London Borough of Islington 
Location: Trent Park Cemetery (Islington) 

As always, we would love to hear from you. Do let us know of any football ancestors or other footballers that you find in the database!

Sources:
Obituary of Bertie Mee in The Times (London, England), Tuesday,  October 23, 2001; pg. 19; Issue 67277.  
Robert Galvin, National Football Museum Hall of Fame: Profile of Bertie Mee



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

London's Spa Fields

Deceased Online has just uploaded around 114,000 burial records from Spa Fields in the modern London borough of Islington Spa Fields today, with the Church of Our Most Holy Redeemer in the background Spa Fields Burial Ground became notorious in the 19th century for its overcrowded and insanitary conditions. Located in the parish of St James, Clerkenwell, the grave yard was not far from the ever-increasing City of London. Spa Fields was known also as Clerkenwell Fields and Ducking-pond Fields in the late 18th century, hinting at a dark side to what was then a summer evening resort for north Londoners. What would become a cemetery was a ducking pond in the rural grounds of a Spa Fields public house. It was here in 1683 that six children were drowned while playing on the ice. In his History of Clerkenwell (1865) William J. Pinks wrote that visitors, "came hither to witness the rude sports that were in vogue a century ago, such as duck-hunting, prize-fighting, bull-baiting

Nottingham Collection

This week, Deceased Online expands its Nottingham Collection with the addition of records from the early Victorian cemetery, Nottingham General. Enter Nottingham's General Cemetery from Canning Terrace and be prepared to step back in time to the late 19th century. Like many of the Victorian cemeteries in the Deceased Online collections, Nottingham General was designed to take the burden from parish churches whose graveyards had become overcrowded. Also, like many other Victorian cemeteries, this was administered by a newly-formed body, the Nottingham General Cemetery Company (1836) . The Grade II listed gatehouse , the chapel and the adjacent almshouses were built between 1836 and 1838 by S. S. Rawlinson . Burial registers were kept from the opening date of cemetery in 1838. Concerns were raised in the 1920s that this municipal cemetery was now overcrowded and from 1929 the cemetery was closed to new burials other than those who owned burial rights. Headstones in

Churck (Rock) Cemetery, Nottingham

Coming soon to the Deceased Online database: two historic cemeteries from Nottingham City Council to add to the Nottingham Collection . This week, I explore the history of the renowned Church Cemetery (also known as the Rock Cemetery) . At first glance, the modern visitor to Nottingham's Church Cemetery may think they have wandered into Kensal Green , or another of London's Magnificent Seven cemeteries. The 13 acre site abounds with the kind of gothic stone monuments and large sarcophogi with which the mid-Victorians liked to remember their dead. Yet look harder and you will find something unique to Nottingham - sandstone caves. Since the middle ages, the area around Nottingham was quarried for its sandstone, now known by the name of a nearby village as "Bulwell sandstone". From 1851, after the cemetery was laid out on the former sandpits, local people grew to know it simply as "The Rock".  Church Cemetery Otherwise known as the Rock Cemetery on a