Skip to main content

West Norwood Crematorium and Lambeth Crematorium

Deceased Online is delighted to be adding 90,000 records to its database this week with the collection of cremation records from West Norwood and Lambeth Crematoria in south London.
Sir Henry Doulton's mausoleum with crematorium in the background (c) Matt Brown/Wikipedia
The borough of Lambeth has a rich history, being located across the River Thames from Westminster. Home to the Archbishop of Canterbury, as well as the site of numerous slum dwellings over the years Lambeth today is the fifth most densely-populated English district and includes the districts of Brixton, Brixton Hill, Clapham, Clapham Park, Crystal Palace, Gipsy Hill, Herne Hill, Kennington, Lambeth, Loughborough Junction, Balham, Oval, Stockwell, Streatham, Streatham Hill, Tulse Hill, Vauxhall, Waterloo, West Dulwich. Deceased Online has today uploaded the records of Lambeth's two crematoriaThe records comprise digital scans of the original cremation registers, as well as scattering or burial locations.

West Norwood Cemetery
Above: the impressive entrance to West Norwood cemetery and crematorium grounds

West Norwood Crematorium lies on the site of the 'Magnificent' West Norwood Cemetery in south London, close to Tulse Hill, Dulwich, Streatham, and Brockwell Park. 

This beautiful crematorium has been awarded a Green Flag award for the joint effort of community and council in restoring the unique heritage and ecological aspects of this environmental asset. 

Last year marked hundred years of cremations in this part of south London. The opening of the crematorium, two years into the Great War, was noted in several newspapers, including the Hastings and St Leonards Observer 6 May 1916 (p.8).

Work began on the crematorium in 1915, when West Norwood Cemetery's Nonconformist Chapel was adapted for use of cremation. Working on behalf of the South Metropolitan Cemetery (as the cemetery was then known), Parisian company, Toisai Fraudet installed the gas furnaces in early 1916. The crematorium sits on the highest point of the West Norwood site. 

During the Second World War, both the nonconformist and the Anglican chapels of the cemetery were damaged. Post-war development was slow, with a replacement crematorium, designed by Alwyn Underdown, being opened in 1960. Built in 1960 from pink bricks, and decorated with ironwork and featuring gothic arched windows, it replaces Sir William Tite (1798-1873)'s nonconformist bomb-damaged chapel/ crematorium, which had been demolished in 1955. Tite himself was buried in the catacombs below. The crematorium is surrounded by many fascinating Victorian graves and monuments.

Six years later, the London borough of Lambeth bought the cemetery and crematorium site, renaming them West Norwood Cemetery and West Norwood Crematorium respectively.

Register Scan
Above: an extract of a West Norwood crematorium register scan

Among the entries in West Norwood's cremation records is that of Spencer John Bent, a drummer in the 1st battalion, East Lancs Regiment, who was awarded the Victoria Cross by King George V when, in November 1914, he took command after his superior officers had been killed. He successfully organised the men and held their position against the attacking German infantry, and brought in to cover some wounded men who were lying in the open, exposed to enemy fire. He was cremated at West Norwood after his death in May 1977, and his VC is on display at the Imperial War Museum.

Another notable entry is that of legendary wrestler, Georges Karl Julius Hackenschmidt (the Russian Lion), who lived with his wife, Rachel, in South Norwood. He was cremated at West Norwood in 1968. 'Hack', as he was commonly known, spoke seven languages and excelled at many sports, including cycling, gymnastics, running, and weightlifting, but was best known for his success in wrestling after defeating the American champion Tom Jenkins and Turkish wrestler Madrali in 1904. After retiring from wrestling, he wrote books and lectured worldwide.

Deceased Online has also added 51,927 records from Lambeth Crematorium, which was opened in 1958 and sits amidst beautiful rose beds and sunken paths in Lambeth Cemetery. Ten acres of garden surround the main chapel with well-kept lawns, shrubs, flowerbeds, and a wooded area

If you have south London ancestors, do keep checking back on this blog or follow us on Facebook and Twitter to get the latest on the upload of records for the cemeteries of Lambeth West Norwood and Streatham. And if you find any of your family in our collections, do let us know. We love to hear from you! 

Official Lambeth Council site for the cemetery and crematorium 
Historic England entry for West Norwood Cemetery and Crematorium


Popular posts from this blog

London's Spa Fields

Deceased Online has just uploaded around 114,000 burial records from Spa Fields in the modern London borough of Islington Spa Fields today, with the Church of Our Most Holy Redeemer in the background Spa Fields Burial Ground became notorious in the 19th century for its overcrowded and insanitary conditions. Located in the parish of St James, Clerkenwell, the grave yard was not far from the ever-increasing City of London. Spa Fields was known also as Clerkenwell Fields and Ducking-pond Fields in the late 18th century, hinting at a dark side to what was then a summer evening resort for north Londoners. What would become a cemetery was a ducking pond in the rural grounds of a Spa Fields public house. It was here in 1683 that six children were drowned while playing on the ice. In his History of Clerkenwell (1865) William J. Pinks wrote that visitors, "came hither to witness the rude sports that were in vogue a century ago, such as duck-hunting, prize-fighting, bull-baiting

Wakefield Collection: Cremation Records now available on Deceased Online

Records for both crematoria in Wakefield, Yorkshire have been added to the Deceased Online database Above: Pontefract Crematorium The two sets of crematoria records have been added to Deceased Online 's Wakefield Collection .  Wakefield district contains nineteen cemeteries and two crematoria. Many of the records go back to the mid and late 19th century when the cemeteries opened, and range across a wide geographical area. The full list of  Wakefield  cemeteries live on Deceased Online,  with opening dates in brackets,   is as follows: 1.  Altofts Cemetery  – Church Road, Altofts, Normanton  (1878)   2.  Alverthorpe Cemetery  – St Paul’s Drive, Alverthorpe, Wakefield  (registers from 1955) 3. Castleford Cemetery  – Headfield Road, Castleford  (1857) 4.  Crigglestone Cemetery  – Standbridge Lane, Crigglestone, Wakefield  (1882) 5. Featherstone Cemetery  – Cutsyke Road, North Featherstone  (1874) 6. Ferrybridge Cemetery  – Pontefract Road, Ferrybridge, P

Churck (Rock) Cemetery, Nottingham

Coming soon to the Deceased Online database: two historic cemeteries from Nottingham City Council to add to the Nottingham Collection . This week, I explore the history of the renowned Church Cemetery (also known as the Rock Cemetery) . At first glance, the modern visitor to Nottingham's Church Cemetery may think they have wandered into Kensal Green , or another of London's Magnificent Seven cemeteries. The 13 acre site abounds with the kind of gothic stone monuments and large sarcophogi with which the mid-Victorians liked to remember their dead. Yet look harder and you will find something unique to Nottingham - sandstone caves. Since the middle ages, the area around Nottingham was quarried for its sandstone, now known by the name of a nearby village as "Bulwell sandstone". From 1851, after the cemetery was laid out on the former sandpits, local people grew to know it simply as "The Rock".  Church Cemetery Otherwise known as the Rock Cemetery on a