Skip to main content

Overleigh Cemetery, Chester

This week I look at the history and monuments of a fascinating cemetery in our North West England collection

The Deceased Online database includes the records of Overleigh Old Cemetery and the newer Overleigh Cemetery, both in the beautiful Roman City of Chester, Cheshire. The cemeteries are two of those administered and maintained by Cheshire West and Chester Council Cemeteries & Crematorium Service. 
 

The original Overleigh Cemetery was opened by the Chester General Cemetery Company on 12 November 1850. The site was laid out between 1848 and 1850 in Overleigh Road in the south-west Handbridge area of the city, close to the River Dee and the stunning Grosvenor Bridge. Its architect was a local man, Thomas Wainwaring Penson (1818-64). The chapels and entrance gate are now listed by English Heritage. Besides two chapels, two lodges and a chaplain's house, the original Victorian cemetery contained an ornamental lake with three small islands. Sadly, none of these survive.

By 1854 many of the parish graveyards in Chester had closed, leaving Overleigh Cemetery's as the only municipal burial ground in the City until Blacon was opened in 1922. Blacon's records can also be found in the Deceased Online database.
The cemetery was initially extended in 1879 and a new chapel was built in 1904. The newer cemetery was built on the other side of Overleigh Road and opened in April 1953. In total, Overleigh records cover 1850-2011 and include more than 80,000 entries. The database includes information on every person buried in the cemetery: name, description, address, age, date of death and burial and grave number. 

Many remarkable people lie buried in Overleigh, not least Mary Jonas (died 1899). Mrs Jonas's demise was announced in the Cheshire Observer of 9 December 1899 under the title, "DEATH OF A CHESTER CELEBRITY". The local furniture broker was famed for giving birth to an eye-watering thirty-three children, including fifteen sets of twins. Amazingly she lived to the age of 87 (or 85 in the burial register).

Burial entry of Mary Jonas, 7 December 1899, Overleigh Old Cemetery
The celebrated "Queen of the Gypsies", Mary Finney (c. 1883-1962) and her husband Guilderoy Finney (died 1932) are both buried in the new extension of Overleigh. Travellers regularly visit the cemetery to leave flowers on their memorial.


Memorial to Mary Finney, the Queen of the Gypsies who was buried in Overleigh Cemetery in 1962


Entry for Mary Finney (bottom line) in the Burial Register of Overleigh Cemetery



Coplestone Memorial, carved in 1934 by Eric Gill as a monument to Frederick Coplestone (died 1932)
Overleigh is home to 127 official graves from the First World War and 69 from the Second World War.

Other Cheshire records in the database are:
  • Parish Church, Middlewich (1807-1892) in The National Archives RG 37 collection
  • St Michael's Church Burial Ground, Chester (1801-1819) in the RG 37 collection
  • Chester Crematorium, Chester (from 1965)
  • Blacon Cemetery, Chester (from 1941)
  • Neston Cemetery, Neston (from 1906)
  • Overpool Cemetery, Ellesmore Port (from 1913)
  • Wharton Cemetery, Winsford (from 1990)
Do let us know if you have found your ancestors in Cheshire. We love to here from you on this blog, and via your Tweets and posts on our Facebook page!

Sources:
Cheshire Observer (Chester, England), Saturday, December 09, 1899; pg. 8; Issue 2470. 19th Century British Library Newspapers: Part II
http://www.cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk/residents/births,_deaths_and_marriage/burials_and_cremations/cemeteries_and_crematoria.aspx 
http://www.chesterwalls.info/grosvenor.bridge.html
http://list.english-heritage.org.uk/resultsingle.aspx?uid=1001607

Popular posts from this blog

London's Spa Fields

Deceased Online has just uploaded around 114,000 burial records from Spa Fields in the modern London borough of Islington Spa Fields today, with the Church of Our Most Holy Redeemer in the background Spa Fields Burial Ground became notorious in the 19th century for its overcrowded and insanitary conditions. Located in the parish of St James, Clerkenwell, the grave yard was not far from the ever-increasing City of London. Spa Fields was known also as Clerkenwell Fields and Ducking-pond Fields in the late 18th century, hinting at a dark side to what was then a summer evening resort for north Londoners. What would become a cemetery was a ducking pond in the rural grounds of a Spa Fields public house. It was here in 1683 that six children were drowned while playing on the ice. In his History of Clerkenwell (1865) William J. Pinks wrote that visitors, "came hither to witness the rude sports that were in vogue a century ago, such as duck-hunting, prize-fighting, bull-baiting

Wakefield Collection: Cremation Records now available on Deceased Online

Records for both crematoria in Wakefield, Yorkshire have been added to the Deceased Online database Above: Pontefract Crematorium The two sets of crematoria records have been added to Deceased Online 's Wakefield Collection .  Wakefield district contains nineteen cemeteries and two crematoria. Many of the records go back to the mid and late 19th century when the cemeteries opened, and range across a wide geographical area. The full list of  Wakefield  cemeteries live on Deceased Online,  with opening dates in brackets,   is as follows: 1.  Altofts Cemetery  – Church Road, Altofts, Normanton  (1878)   2.  Alverthorpe Cemetery  – St Paul’s Drive, Alverthorpe, Wakefield  (registers from 1955) 3. Castleford Cemetery  – Headfield Road, Castleford  (1857) 4.  Crigglestone Cemetery  – Standbridge Lane, Crigglestone, Wakefield  (1882) 5. Featherstone Cemetery  – Cutsyke Road, North Featherstone  (1874) 6. Ferrybridge Cemetery  – Pontefract Road, Ferrybridge, P

Churck (Rock) Cemetery, Nottingham

Coming soon to the Deceased Online database: two historic cemeteries from Nottingham City Council to add to the Nottingham Collection . This week, I explore the history of the renowned Church Cemetery (also known as the Rock Cemetery) . At first glance, the modern visitor to Nottingham's Church Cemetery may think they have wandered into Kensal Green , or another of London's Magnificent Seven cemeteries. The 13 acre site abounds with the kind of gothic stone monuments and large sarcophogi with which the mid-Victorians liked to remember their dead. Yet look harder and you will find something unique to Nottingham - sandstone caves. Since the middle ages, the area around Nottingham was quarried for its sandstone, now known by the name of a nearby village as "Bulwell sandstone". From 1851, after the cemetery was laid out on the former sandpits, local people grew to know it simply as "The Rock".  Church Cemetery Otherwise known as the Rock Cemetery on a