Skip to main content

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Event 31 October 2019

In honour of Black History Month, Camden Local Studies and Archives Centre is holding a special event honouring Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, who is buried in Bandon Cemetery


Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

On Thursday 31st October at 7.15pm, Camden Archives and Local History Centre hosts a talk with music for Black History Month by Richard Gordon-Smith (composer) and Martin Anthony Burrage (violin, piano) of the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Foundation. The venue is significant as it is located in the street where the celebrated composer was born.

Although he was born in Holborn, now in the north London borough of Camden, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's was buried in Bandon Hill and his record can be found in Deceased Online's South London Collection. Search the database for the full set of burial records for Bandon Hill Cemetery, Wallington, in the London Borough of Sutton. Bandon Hill is situated in Plough Lane, Wallington SM6 8JQ and is a working cemetery. However, today burial rights are only given for reclaimed graves where burial space remains but has not been used for 75 years.

At the time of his death, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912), lived in St. Leonard's Road, Croydon. However, he was born on 15 August 1875 at 15 Theobalds Road, Holborn, as Samuel Coleridge Taylor, and was named after the poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge. His parents were unmarried, and by the time of Samuel's birth, his father, Daniel Hugh(es) Taylor, a surgeon, had returned home to Sierra Leone. Samuel's mother, Alice Martin, went on to marry George Evans, a railway storeman. They raised Samuel, supporting his evident musical talent. In 1890, Coleridge-Taylor was awarded a scholarship to the Royal College of Music. 

Originally a violinist, Coleridge-Taylor soon became a respected composer, working with Edward Elgar. His most popular work, Hiawatha's Wedding Feast premiered in 1898. Samuel married in 1893 and named his first child "Hiawatha" (1900-1980).

In 1912, Coleridge-Taylor developed pneumonia. In August, he collapsed at West Croydon Railway Station, and died a few days later, on 1 September, aged just 37 years. He was buried at Bandon Hill and mourned widely. In respect of his achievements, King George V granted Samuel's widow, Jessie, an annual pension of £100.

Headstone of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)

The Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Event takes place on Thursday 31st October 2019 in Camden Local Studies & Archives Centre, 2nd Floor, Holborn Library, 32-38 Theobalds Road, London WC1X 8PA at 7.15pm (Doors open at 6.45pm). Admission Free.

Are you a fan of Samuel Coleridge-Taylor? Or have you found your South London relatives in Deceased Online's records? Do let us know via the Comments Box below or on our Facebook and Twitter pages. We love to hear from you!


 












Comments

Popular posts from this blog

London's Spa Fields

Deceased Online has just uploaded around 114,000 burial records from Spa Fields in the modern London borough of Islington Spa Fields today, with the Church of Our Most Holy Redeemer in the background Spa Fields Burial Ground became notorious in the 19th century for its overcrowded and insanitary conditions. Located in the parish of St James, Clerkenwell, the grave yard was not far from the ever-increasing City of London. Spa Fields was known also as Clerkenwell Fields and Ducking-pond Fields in the late 18th century, hinting at a dark side to what was then a summer evening resort for north Londoners. What would become a cemetery was a ducking pond in the rural grounds of a Spa Fields public house. It was here in 1683 that six children were drowned while playing on the ice. In his History of Clerkenwell (1865) William J. Pinks wrote that visitors, "came hither to witness the rude sports that were in vogue a century ago, such as duck-hunting, prize-fighting, bull-baiting

Nottingham Collection

This week, Deceased Online expands its Nottingham Collection with the addition of records from the early Victorian cemetery, Nottingham General. Enter Nottingham's General Cemetery from Canning Terrace and be prepared to step back in time to the late 19th century. Like many of the Victorian cemeteries in the Deceased Online collections, Nottingham General was designed to take the burden from parish churches whose graveyards had become overcrowded. Also, like many other Victorian cemeteries, this was administered by a newly-formed body, the Nottingham General Cemetery Company (1836) . The Grade II listed gatehouse , the chapel and the adjacent almshouses were built between 1836 and 1838 by S. S. Rawlinson . Burial registers were kept from the opening date of cemetery in 1838. Concerns were raised in the 1920s that this municipal cemetery was now overcrowded and from 1929 the cemetery was closed to new burials other than those who owned burial rights. Headstones in

Churck (Rock) Cemetery, Nottingham

Coming soon to the Deceased Online database: two historic cemeteries from Nottingham City Council to add to the Nottingham Collection . This week, I explore the history of the renowned Church Cemetery (also known as the Rock Cemetery) . At first glance, the modern visitor to Nottingham's Church Cemetery may think they have wandered into Kensal Green , or another of London's Magnificent Seven cemeteries. The 13 acre site abounds with the kind of gothic stone monuments and large sarcophogi with which the mid-Victorians liked to remember their dead. Yet look harder and you will find something unique to Nottingham - sandstone caves. Since the middle ages, the area around Nottingham was quarried for its sandstone, now known by the name of a nearby village as "Bulwell sandstone". From 1851, after the cemetery was laid out on the former sandpits, local people grew to know it simply as "The Rock".  Church Cemetery Otherwise known as the Rock Cemetery on a