Skip to main content

Norfolk Cemeteries: Erminio William Louis Marchesi and Earlham Cemetery

Continuing our coverage of cemeteries in Norwich City, this week we focus on Earlham
Grave of Erminio William Louis Marchesi in Earlham Cemetery ( 
One of the most well-known names in Earlham Cemetery's burial registers is that of Erminio William Louis Marchesi (19 January 1898 – 10 December 1968)

Born in Norfolk on 19 January 1898, Marchesi was named after his father, Swiss immigrant, Erminio Marchesi, but was known by his third forename of Louis. The young Louis grew up in Norwich, where his father had run the city's first Swiss restaurant in Prince of Wales Road since 1896. Louis' mother was of Irish heritage.

After serving in the First World War, Louis returned to life in Norwich. There he became a member of the Rotary Club. In 1926, after hearing a radio speech by the Prince of Wales urging young Britons to "sit round table (Round Table) adopt an idea, adapt it and improve it", Louis was inspired to found the Round Table movement, a club supporting younger businessmen.

In 1927, he developed this idea to establish the respected international fellowship and charitable organisation for young men that continues to this day. Marchesi married in Norfolk in 1934. He and his wife, Dolly, had one son, Peter.

During the Second World War, Marchesi served as 2nd Lieutenant in the Army Catering Corps.  

Marchesi died, aged 70, at his Norwich home on 10 December 1968.

He was buried in Earlham Cemetery on 16 December 1968. A memorial service was held in Westminster Cathedral the following year, and he continues to be remembered in his home city by an eponymous pub at 17 Tombland.

Above is a close-up of the grave register entry for Erminio William Louis Marchesi, described as a "Rtd [retired] Caterer". He was buried with relatives in a family grave.

The inscription on his grave reads:
to the memory of

Erminio William Louis Marchesi 


who died 10 December 1968 aged 70 years
Founder of the Round Table Movement

"if you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,

or walk with kings, nor lose the common touch."
- Rudyard Kipling

Also Dolly

darling wife of Louis and mother of Peter
who died 12 July 1965 aged 59 years
"A lovely flower for God's garden"

And of Erminio Giuseppe Marchesi

who died 23 February 1936 at Poschiavo
Switzerland aged 65 years

and Mary Jane his beloved wife

who died 11 April 1951 aged 77 years

also of Ada Kate Danaher

who died 12 April 1951 aged 74 years.

As usual, we love to hear from readers of this blog. Do you have a connection to the Round Table? Or perhaps you know of someone buried at Earlham? 

Leave a comment in the box below, or contact us on Twitter or Facebook


Popular posts from this blog

London's Spa Fields

Deceased Online has just uploaded around 114,000 burial records from Spa Fields in the modern London borough of Islington Spa Fields today, with the Church of Our Most Holy Redeemer in the background Spa Fields Burial Ground became notorious in the 19th century for its overcrowded and insanitary conditions. Located in the parish of St James, Clerkenwell, the grave yard was not far from the ever-increasing City of London. Spa Fields was known also as Clerkenwell Fields and Ducking-pond Fields in the late 18th century, hinting at a dark side to what was then a summer evening resort for north Londoners. What would become a cemetery was a ducking pond in the rural grounds of a Spa Fields public house. It was here in 1683 that six children were drowned while playing on the ice. In his History of Clerkenwell (1865) William J. Pinks wrote that visitors, "came hither to witness the rude sports that were in vogue a century ago, such as duck-hunting, prize-fighting, bull-baiting

Nottingham Collection

This week, Deceased Online expands its Nottingham Collection with the addition of records from the early Victorian cemetery, Nottingham General. Enter Nottingham's General Cemetery from Canning Terrace and be prepared to step back in time to the late 19th century. Like many of the Victorian cemeteries in the Deceased Online collections, Nottingham General was designed to take the burden from parish churches whose graveyards had become overcrowded. Also, like many other Victorian cemeteries, this was administered by a newly-formed body, the Nottingham General Cemetery Company (1836) . The Grade II listed gatehouse , the chapel and the adjacent almshouses were built between 1836 and 1838 by S. S. Rawlinson . Burial registers were kept from the opening date of cemetery in 1838. Concerns were raised in the 1920s that this municipal cemetery was now overcrowded and from 1929 the cemetery was closed to new burials other than those who owned burial rights. Headstones in

Churck (Rock) Cemetery, Nottingham

Coming soon to the Deceased Online database: two historic cemeteries from Nottingham City Council to add to the Nottingham Collection . This week, I explore the history of the renowned Church Cemetery (also known as the Rock Cemetery) . At first glance, the modern visitor to Nottingham's Church Cemetery may think they have wandered into Kensal Green , or another of London's Magnificent Seven cemeteries. The 13 acre site abounds with the kind of gothic stone monuments and large sarcophogi with which the mid-Victorians liked to remember their dead. Yet look harder and you will find something unique to Nottingham - sandstone caves. Since the middle ages, the area around Nottingham was quarried for its sandstone, now known by the name of a nearby village as "Bulwell sandstone". From 1851, after the cemetery was laid out on the former sandpits, local people grew to know it simply as "The Rock".  Church Cemetery Otherwise known as the Rock Cemetery on a